Continents | Home / Continents / South America

Last update: February, 11 2021

South America


Political map of South America

Political map of South America


South America is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean, on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean and finally North America and the Caribbean Sea on the northwest.

The border between South America and North America is at the Darién Mountains watershed.


17,840,000 km2 (6,890,000 sq mi) 

Topographic map of South America

Topographic map of South America

Land cover map of South America

Land cover map of South America



430,759,772 (2020)

Density of population

21.4/km2 (56.0/sq mi)

Population from 1950 to 2020


Source: United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2019). World Population Prospects 2019, Online Edition. Rev. 1.


GDP (PPP) (estimate 2019)

Total: $6.92 trillion

GDP (nominal) (estimate 2019)

Total: $3.64 trillion

Per capita: $8,560

South American countries and capitals

FlagCountry nameCapitalPopulationArea
flag of argentinaArgentinaBuenos Aires44,938,712 (2019)2,780,400 km2
flag of BoliviaBoliviaSucre (legislative and juridical capital)
La paz (administrative capital)
11,469,896 (2020)1,098,581 km2 
Flag of BrazilBrazilBrasília210,147,125 (2019)8,515,770 km2
Flag of ChileChileSantiago17,574,003 (2017)756,102 km2
flag of ColombiaColombiaBogotá50,372,424 (2020)1,138,910 km2 
Flag of EcuadorEcuadorQuito17,084,358 (2018)283,561 km2
flag of GuyanaGuyanaGeorgetown786,391 (2018)214,969 km2
flag of ParaguayParaguayAsuncion7,252,672 (2020)406,752 km2
flag of PeruPeruLima32,824,358 (2020)1,285,216 km2
flag of SurinameSurinameParamaribo575,990 (2018)163,820 km2
flag of UruguayUrugayMontevideo3,518,552 (2019)176,215 km2 
flag of VenezuelaVenezuelaCaracas28,887,118 (2018)912,050 km2