Regions / Horn of Africa


The Horn of Africa is a peninsula in Africa located on the east side of Africa, along the southern side of the Red Sea. Its name comes from the rhinoceros horn shape.

The Horn of Africa denotes the region containing the countries of Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia and Somaliland (not recognized state – part of Somalia).


Population: 122,618,170 (2016)

Density of population: 65.1/km2 (168.7/sq mi)


Area: 1,882,757 km2 (726,936 sq mi)

Horn of Africa map

Horn of Africa map
{"urlFile":"https:\/\/\/wp-content\/uploads\/2020\/09\/horn-of-africa-map-scaled.jpeg","nameFile":"Horn of Africa map"}

Horn of Africa nation

FlagCountry nameCapitalPopulationArea
flag of DjiboutiDjiboutiDjibouti1,078,373 (2019)23,200 km2
flag of EritreaEritreaAsmara6,081,196 (2020)117,600 km2
flag of EthiopiaEthiopiaAddis Ababa109,224,414 (2018)
1,104,300 km2
flag of SomaliaSomaliaMogadishu15,893,219 (2020)637,657 km2